top of page

All I want for Christmas is.....

Christmas is my favorite time of year. I look forward to decorating my home with my large collection of Santa Clauses and deciding what will be the theme or color scheme for each area in my home. Typically, Christmas is characterized as a time of giving. Advertisers flood the tv screens enticing consumers with allusion of grandeur of all things they think we WANT to have and NEED to have for Christmas. Even the advertiser that created ChiaPet, makes many people think they need to have one!

As I sat in my peace room today, I began to think about what is that I really need for Christmas. Many times we get so caught up in the WANTS of Christmas. What I believe is most important is the NEED. As a child, I would run around singing the song "All I want for Christmas is my two front teeth", Any snaggle tooth child has probably heard the song and sniggled as they could agree with the lyrics. But when you think about it, not only was it a WANT but it was also a NEED!. Eating an apple is a bit easier when you have your two front teeth. So I began think deeply about my Needs. Needs are a must have. Wants are just that...

Have you thought about your needs instead of your wants this Christmas? Here are my needs for this holiday.

1. Peace- There was a time in my life, holidays were very stressful. So, I need this in any shape, form or fashion.

2. Play time- Our family loves to play games. Taking the time to play and laugh is good for the spirit. I look forward to a good game of Taboo or Scrabble.

3. Presence- I need the presence of those I love. 2016 has been a very difficult year. We have lost so many great people and have to face some challenging societal issues. We all know that life is not promised. I want to surround myself this holiday season with people that feed my spirit and love me. I want us to be present with each other in that very moment.

So you see these needs cannot be wrapped under the Christmas tree much like the wants that we desire. You must be intentional about expressing your needs. Write them down. Share them. If it peace that you really need, maybe they will make a conscious effort to make life a bit peaceful for you.

I hope the next time you hear the song instead of singing "All I want for Christmas is.. you will sing .. All I need for Christmas is.."

Happy Holidays!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page