top of page

HEY A-Type!- You can learn to Meditate!

Hi I am IyaLami and I am an "A' type. If you are familiar with the "A" type personality, you know that "A" types have a need for control. Yes, I said a NEED for control. You want to control every aspect of your life and the life of others. It can be a detriment to your health, it was for mine. Once plagued with anxiety attacks and an irregular heartbeat, I needed to find some calm and restore myself to balance.

While reading about the ancient teachings of Buddhism, I began to dabble in meditating. I was hesitant at first because I always am thinking and planning and never thought I could shut my brain down. Secluding myself in a locked bathroom with one candle and soft nature sounds, I established my meditating practice over 20 years ago. DISCLAIMER- My practice was intermittent for a few years.

Here is what I found helpful as I started my practice.

1. Start small- You don' t have to plan to meditate for 30 minutes the first time you begin. Start with two minutes and work your way up. Remember it is a "practice".

2. Start early- I set my clock to get up early before work to begin my day on the right foot. If possible, try to have a consistent time every day.

3. Start with your intention- As you begin your practice, what do you want to accomplish in that time. Is it to breathe more deeply?, feel more at peace?

Read this article for more tips on how to begin to meditate https://theconsciouslife.com/how-to-meditate-a-guide-for-beginners.htm

Happy Meditating!!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page